Addis Ababa University Department of Chemistry

By |

Addis Ababa University Department of Chemistry

Addis Ababa University Department of Chemistry – Check Below:


The Department of Chemistry was initially established in 1950 as a unit of the University College of Addis Ababa. It was subsequently organized into a full-fledged Department of Haile Selassie I University in 1967 offering a four-year degree (B.Sc.) program in Chemistry. In the year 1978 the Department launched graduate program leading to M.Sc. degree in four areas of specializations, i.e. analytical, inorganic, organic and physical chemistry. This was a turning point in the history of the Department and a significant step forward towards fulfilling the Country’s needs for high-level qualified chemists. The success of the MSc program encouraged the Department to launch the PhD program in 1985. The emergence of both MSc ad PhD programs produced a positive impact on the teaching and learning processes as well as the development and research activities of the Department.
The Department has now grown into being one of the largest Departments in the College of Natural and Computational Sciences, which renders significant contributions to the dissemination of knowledge and development of scientific manpower in the country. The members of the Department have been diligently working over the years to fulfill the expected aims and objectives of the country at large and those of the University in particular.
The Department of Chemistry serves the Country by advancing and disseminating knowledge, educating students, catalyzing economic development, and by providing scientific leadership in the chemical sciences. The Department strives to strengthen its capacity to teach and conduct research. It continues to employ experienced academic and technical staff and acquire modern instruments to nurture existing and emerging programs. This will not only greatly enhance its graduate training capacity but will also enable it to support the academic activities of the emerging universities in the Country.
The Department of Chemistry at Addis Ababa University (AAU) will continue directing its potential at promoting systematic and untiring efforts towards diverse, dynamic and innovative teaching, research and community service activities in order to achieve regional and global recognition as a premier institution of learning. Besides gaining preeminence in core areas (analytical, inorganic, organic and physical chemistry), new multidisciplinary areas of opportunities (the chemistry of materials, computational chemistry, environmental, green and sustainable chemistry, food chemistry, etc.) will be launched and developed in line with the current trends in the science of chemistry.
Program objectives

  • To achieve excellence and breadth in core areas of chemistry and to strengthen the department’s capacity to actively participate in faculty-, university- and nation-wide interdisciplinary initiatives.
  • To achieve excellence in the undergraduate and graduate training programs.
  • To provide quality analytical and consultancy services, to disseminate the Department’s discoveries, innovations, and achievements and to enhance awareness of chemistry in the society.

Programs currently offering by the Department
Regular Programs

  1. Sc. Degree program in Chemistry
  2. Sc. Degree Program in Chemistry
  3. D. Degree Program in Chemistry

Evening Program
B.Sc. Degree program in Chemistry
In-Service Program

  1. B.Sc. Degree Program in Chemistry
  2. M.Sc. Degree Program in Chemistry

Program Modules
BSc Program

  • Core Compulsory Modules
  • Core Election Modules
  • Common Modules
  • Summery of Modules

 MSc Program

  • Modules Common to All Streams
  • Analytical Chemistry Stream Modules
  • Inorganic Chemistry Stream Modules
  • Organic Chemistry Stream Modules
  • Physical Chemistry Stream Modules

 PhD Program

  • Analytical Chemistry Stream
  • Inorganic Chemistry Stream
  • Organic Chemistry Stream
  • Physical Chemistry Stream



Chairman of the Department
Dr Ahmed Mustefa
Department of Chemistry
College of Natural and Computational Sciences
Addis Ababa University
PO Box: 33658, Addis Ababa Ethiopia
Building: Science, Arat Kilo
Floor Number: 2nd
Office no.: 201
Tel: 251111239466
Fax: 251111239470
Quick Links:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *